Georgia Weapons Carry License

Georgia gun laws for a concealed carry license require a person to be at least 21 years old or 18 if they are a member of the military. Applications are handled at the county level and filed with the Probate Court in the county of residence. No license is needed to carry a firearm in a person's home, vehicle, place of business, while fishing or hunting, or unloaded in a case. Interestingly, there is an ordinance in Kennesaw City, GA that states that all homeowners must own a firearm, although it is unlikely enforced.

Applications for Concealed Weapons permit must be made during regular business hours at the Richmond County Probabte Court, Monday through Friday from 8:30 am until 3 pm. Each application takes about 30 minutes, so no application will be commenced after 3 pm Monday through Friday. You can partially fill out the Weapons Carry Permit online.  CLICK HERE to access the online form. Once you submit the form, you will need to go to the Probate Court to finish the application process during regular business hours.  You do not need to come to the Court during the same business day. Filling out the application online will save you time when you come to the Probate Court, but you are still required to have the appropriate identification and requirements as listed on this web site. 

To apply for a Georgia Weapons Carry License here you must:

  • Be a resident of Richmond County
  • Be at least 21 years of age
  • If you have completed basic training in the armed forces and can provide proof that he or she is actively serving or has been honorable discharged from the armed forces you may apply between the ages of 18 to 21.

Things you will need to bring:

  • Georgia license showing your current Richmond County address
    If you have a P.O. Box on your license you must provide a utility bill with your street address
  • $79.25 (Cash Only)

If you are Military:

  • You will need to bring a picture ID
  • A Utility bill with your current address
  • Orders showing that you are stationed in Georgia

To renew your permit:

A renewal constitutes a current Georgia Weapons Carry License or a license that has expired within 30 days of your current license. The license also must have been issued by Richmond County. If not you will pay full price of $79.25.

  • Georgia license showing your current Richmond County address
    If you have a P.O. Box on your license you must provide a utility bill with your street address
  • You will need your old permit
  • The cost is $35.00 Cash or Money order

For more information regarding rules and regulations on a Georgia Weapons Carry License go to: Georgia Packing.

Richmond County Probate Court 706-821-2438 or 706-821-2434

As of May 2020, Georgia honors concealed carry permits from 33 states. Any resident or non-resident of those states with a valid CCW license is permitted to carry in Georgia. Currently 17 states will not accept a Georgia concealed carry License. States that accept Georgia licenses are Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming.